imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Who is your worst enemy?

on June 20, 2014

Everyone, at some point in their lives, has had at least one or more persons that they would consider to be enemies.  If I asked you who your worst enemy was, what would be your answer?

Actually, you may not realize it, but your worst enemy is probably yourself.  Other people hurt us with their words or actions but we hurt ourselves more than anyone with our own negative thinking.  Just listen to the way you talk to yourself.  Do any of these sound familiar?

  • I’m a loser
  • I’m stupid
  • I’m worthless
  • I can’t do anything right
  • Nothing good will ever happen to me
  • Nobody likes me

I’ve said all of these things to myself and I actually believed them.  Why?  Because people in my life said them to me – parents, friends, bullies.   I didn’t realize that I didn’t have to believe what people said to me.  Sadly, I thought they were right and I was wrong.   These people became my enemies and I didn’t know that my worst enemy followed me around everywhere I went.

Thankfully I finally discovered that none of these things were true.  By building my confidence and increasing my self-esteem, I learned to accept myself for who I was.  Now I realize that I have a lot of great abilities and skills that make me a person of value.  We all need to realize that what people say to us is not always the truth and we should not just allow their careless words to penetrate our minds and hearts.

So who is your worst enemy?  If the answer is YOU, then you need to make some positive changes in your life.  Replace your negative thoughts with positive thoughts.   Accept yourself despite your flaws and imperfections.  Surround yourself with positive people, places and things that lift you up.    Need some help?  Visit my website at http://www.imconfident.com for information about building confidence and increasing esteem.   For some hands-on information and exercises, go to the Bookstore page where you can order my Caterpillar to Butterfly Self-Esteem Workbook.

 

Leave a Reply

