imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

The value of reading books

on June 10, 2014

Ever since I was a small child, I have enjoyed reading.  I’m sure this came naturally as my family were all readers.  Sometimes when I’m reading a book, I remember my father sitting in his rocking chair, reading a book.   He had an entire bookcase in his room, filled with books that he enjoyed reading over and over again.

Grandmother Reading with GranddaughterBooks can fill you with information.  They can take you to far-away places.  They can help you dream.  They can fuel your imagination.

Many people do not read books today and instead are just using the internet to find out information.   However, research clearly shows that reading books has advantages and when you teach your children to read, you are giving them a wonderful gift that will enrich their lives.  Reading will help your children:

  • become better readers
  • get better grades in school
  • help them use their imagination
  • become confident
  • become independent
  • understand emotions
  • increases their attention span
  • learn about other people and the world
  • learn how to relax and enjoy quiet time

When  your children are small, start reading stories to them.  This provides your child with a positive role model to follow.  Children love sitting close to you and listening to your words.  This tells them that they are important to you and that you enjoy spending time with them.  It establishes a close parent/child relationship and increases their self-esteem.

 

 

 

2 responses to “The value of reading books

  1. I read to my daughter from day one and she’s a book lover! What a blessing that is!
    Brenda, your are a blessing!
    I re-followed your blog to get your posts in my email. My reader is a mess. Can’t find anything! Lol

  2. imconfident says:

    Thanks. I wish more people realized the value of books. So many kids today don’t like reading at all, except when it comes to the internet.

Leave a Reply

