imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Do you keep your word?

on May 15, 2014

clip shaking handsHave you made any promises lately?

  • I promise we’ll get together for lunch sometime
  • I promise to fix the fence this week
  • I promise to get you a new pair of boots
  • I promise to take out the garbage later
  • I promise to spend time with  you tomorrow

People make promises all the time, but how often do we keep our promises?  Sadly many people make and break promises all the time and don’t even seem to care.

The dictionary defines a promise as:

  • ‘a statement telling someone who you will definitely do something or that something will definitely happen in the future
  • an indication of future success or improvement
  • a reason to expect that something will happen in the future

This tells me that a promise is something that is binding like a contract and I have always tried hard to make sure that I kept my promises.  Of course, being human, I probably have made a few that I haven’t kept.  However, I feel very strongly that a promise is important and unless it is impossible to keep that promise, I will follow through or at least let the person know why I can’t.

Years ago when people made a promise to someone, they kept that promise.   Contracts were even made just by the shake of a hand and a promise.    Today the word ‘promise’ is just another word that often means absolutely nothing.   The problem is, when you break a promise, it breaks trust with that person and may even break the relationship.

If you really value your relationships and you want people to trust and respect you, make sure you don’t make any promises that you can’t keep.  It is far better not to make a promise if you do not plan on following through.

Losers make promises they often break. Winners make commitments they always keep. ~Denis Waitley

Promises are like crying babies in a theater, they should be carried out at once. ~Norman Vincent Peale

We must not promise what we ought not, lest we be called on to perform what we cannot. ~Abraham Lincoln

Promise only what you can deliver. Then deliver more than you promise. ~Author Unknown

 

Leave a Reply

