imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

The Origin of Easter

on April 19, 2014

I’ve been doing research on Easter and I discovered that the name ‘Easter’ is not of Christian origin as I thought.  It actually was a pagan festival that worshipped other gods and there are some interesting stories including a cult that claims a virgin birth, death and rebirth about 200 BC.   Then about 325 AD, it seems the Roman Empire decided to replace this pagan celebration with a festival that observed the birth, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Since then, Easter has become a tradition.

If Easter was really the name of a pagan celebration, why did they replace it with such an important and passionate event?   It seems interesting that many people today celebrate Easter as the pagans did thousands of years before.

I’ve heard people refer to Easter Sunday as Resurrection Sunday and I think that is a much more appropriate name.   It reflects the meaning of the day much better.

Here is a great Resurrection Sunday song that was written by our Worship Leader Greg Sykes and our pastor’s wife.  Enjoy Greg as he sings, “The Rock that Won’t be Moved”.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAQur9WKotE&list=PLxW5UZOSreHXbJIAKHSxbFPzkuZf96eC3

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “The Origin of Easter

  1. Enigma says:

    This is very interesting.

  2. Enigma says:

    I also have an issue with Sunday being the day he came back from the dead. If we celebrate Friday as his crucifixion day then shouldn’t it be 3 days after? Meaning Monday?

    • imconfident says:

      I see what you mean. I’m certainly not an expert on this but here is what I’ve researched. According to the Jews in the first century, a part of a day was counted as a full day. So Jesus was in the grave (part of) Friday, Saturday and (part of) Sunday, so in their way of thinking, He did rise on the 3rd day after being buried. Bible language is really hard to understand sometimes.

      • Enigma says:

        Thanks. That’s the answer I got in church today too. There are some things we would never know.

      • imconfident says:

        I’ve learned so much in the past few years since I’ve started studying the Bible. I thought I knew everything from growing up in a Christian family and attending church, but now I realize how little I do know.

Leave a Reply

