imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

The storm is outside, not inside

on March 12, 2014

untitledOld man winter has struck again!  Woke up this morning to see a blanket of snow falling and covering the ground.  As I look out the window, I can barely see more than a block away as the wind is now whipping up the snow and creating blizzard conditions.  In a few minutes, I have to go out for an appointment and I dread the drive I have to make across town.   This isn’t because I’m nervous or afraid of driving in bad weather.  I’m a tough Canadian and I’ve driven in many snow storms, freezing rain and even through the tail end of a hurricane but I’m always cautious about road conditions and I slow down accordingly.  Unfortunately, there are a lot of drivers who aren’t cautious and they drive the same way in bad weather as they do in good weather.  This is what I am dreading, being around all those other careless drivers.

Hopefully, this will be the last big storm we get.  It is almost halfway through March and spring will soon be here.  Although, we don’t always have much of a spring season anymore.  Spring was always my favourite season, but it seems that we bypass spring most years, jumping right from the cold and rainy weather right into the hot and humid weather.

Oh well, we are never happy with the weather.  It is always too cold, too hot, too rainy, too dry.   We just want things to be perfect and they never will be.  I listen to people complain about the weather all the time and then see how miserable it makes them.  Some people get really depressed when the weather is bad.  I must admit, it used to bother me too.  On a dark, gloomy day, I would feel depressed and stay in bed if I could.  I was so negative that I would even make all sorts of excuses for not getting up:  “I don’t feel good, I have a headache, I don’t have anything important to do”.  But I’ve finally learned that it is silly to allow the weather to control our moods.   I look at life with a positive perspective now and I try to enjoy the day no matter what the weather is.  Thinking about all the things I have to be thankful for is a great way to overcome any bad feelings.   

  • Today I am thankful that I am not a homeless person living out on the street in this horrible weather.
  • Today I am thankful that I have a roof over my head, a warm bed to sleep in and healthy food to eat
  • Today I am thankful that I am not a traveller stranded on the road
  • Today I am thankful that I have a car to drive and don’t have to walk in the coldmouse and snowflakes

No, the weather is not going to steal my joy today.  I don’t let outside circumstances control how I feel.  I choose to be happy today.  There is a storm outside but not inside. 

Leave a Reply

