imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

I’ll be happy when….

on March 1, 2014

happy face with birdHave you ever thought any of the following?

  • I’ll be happy when I finish school/college
  • I’ll be happy when I get a job
  • I’ll be happy when I get married
  • I’ll be happy when I have kids
  • I’ll be happy when the kids are in school
  • I’ll be happy when I get a new car
  • I’ll be happy when I lose 20 (50, 100….) pounds
  • I’ll be happy when I get a raise
  • I’ll be happy when I retire
  • and so on…..

We often think that when something happens in our lives that we will be happy, but in reality, this only bring temporary happiness.  Why?  Because once the initial excitement of getting what you want wears off, you will want something else to fill that empty space.  You will work harder and harder and run around in circles trying to achieve happiness and never reach your goal.  When you wait for your happiness to come from other people or things, there will always be something missing.

True happiness comes when you are able to take responsibility for your own actions and behaviours.  Instead of counting on external circumstances to make you happy, you have to take responsibility for your own emotions and try to look at life with a positive perspective.   You can’t control your emotions but you can control how you respond to them.   When life doesn’t work out as you expected, you can choose to respond in a negative way which will block your happiness or you can choose to respond in a positive way which will allow your happiness to flow through.  Respond responsibly and you will be much happier.  Positive choices will empower you to become successful and help you overcome any obstacles in your way.

Think about 3 things that you think would make you happy right now.  If you got those 3 things today, would they still be making you happy next week?  How about next month, next year or in 5 years?  We often want things to happen immediately because we think they will make us happy, but if we really stopped to think about it, they wouldn’t really make us happy for very long.

When will you be happy?

Leave a Reply

