imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Do you sound like a broken record?

on February 10, 2014

record playerYears ago, when we had record players, sometimes the phonograph records would become scratched and stay in the same groove playing the same note over and over again.  This was an annoying and irritating sound that made it impossible to keep listening to the record.   However, it was possible to repair a scratch with certain items including a record cleaning brush and a lot of time and patience.  Most people didn’t know how to fix a record or want to be bothered, so they would just give up and toss it out.

We often sound like broken records, saying things to ourselves that we have heard a long time ago.  Do any of these sound familiar:

  • I’m too stupid to learn anything
  • I’m worthless
  • Nobody likes me
  • I’m a dummy
  • I look like an idiot
  • I’ll never finish school
  • I’m a loser
  • I can’t find a job
  • I’ll always be depressed
  • I’ll never be successful

These are just a few of the things that we might have been told by our parents, our peers, bullies or other people in our lives.  We hear words that hurt us, put us down and make us feel bad.  Then we start telling ourselves these same words and keep repeating them over and over again until they become habit.  These words are not true but we believe them and they become our truth.

We have to realize that what people say to us is from their thoughts and it reflects their thoughts and not the person we are.  People who say hurtful words are hurting themselves and they just want to hurt someone else so they will feel better.  It gives them a temporary feeling of power but it can also be destructive to us if we believe what they say.

If you sound like a broken record and you keep repeating things over and over in your mind years after they have been said, then you need to stop that record and do some repairs.  Ask yourself why you believe these things.  Why is that record still playing in your mind?  Why do you keep hurting yourself?

Start working on creating a new record, one that repeats positive things about yourself.  If you can learn to think negative things about yourself by creating a habit, you can also learn to think positive things about yourself by creating a habit.  Work on some positive statements or affirmations that you can repeat every day until you no longer hear those negative words playing in your mind.   It takes time and patience but if you work hard at becoming positive, it will help build your confidence and increase your esteem.

Do you sound like a broken record?  Do the words sound like this?

  • I always do my best
  • I am a good friend
  • I work hard
  • I like to help others
  • I am a kind person
  • I go the extra mile
  • I like to smile
  • I feel peaceful

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

