imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

February is the month of love

on February 6, 2014

1380773_10201538680441563_629583717_nWhen February comes, people tend to think about love which can be a happy occasion if you have that ‘special someone” in your life.  Valentine’s Day will be here soon and people are starting to buy cards, gifts and make plans for that special evening.  Of course, if you don’t have a ‘special someone’, this can be a difficult month for you.   I remember my younger years when I didn’t have anyone to share my heart with.   Of course my dad was always really sweet, making sure we all got our special treat on Valentine’s Day.  Then once I was married, I thought everything would be different.  Now I had my real Valentine.   On that special day, my gift was all ready and I wondered what I would receive.  I didn’t realize that every man was not like my day, and I received nothing.  My husband simply had never celebrated Valentine’s Day growing up in his country and this was a custom that he never did follow to this day.   It used to hurt me at first but over the years I began to realize that I placed way too much importance on something so small.  I was surrounded by family that loved me and chocolates would never take their place.

If you have a loved one that doesn’t seem to care about Valentine’s Day, remember that it is just another day.  Don’t let the media make you feel like you are missing out on something.  Getting ‘stuff’ does not show love.  Actions show love.  Why not ask your loved one if they would like to do something special, like going out for dinner or just watching a movie together.  This is so much better than being miserable and you will save money.  You don’t really need that box of chocolates or bunch of flowers.  If you want them that bad, go out and buy some and then share it with your loved one.  There is nothing wrong with pampering yourself, you deserve it!

If you don’t have a loved one this Valentine’s Day, don’t be discouraged or feel depressed.   Why not ask some friends to go out somewhere and celebrate the evening.   You probably know people that are also feeling unloved and need someone to show them that they are important.  Don’t stay home alone and be miserable.  If you are totally alone, make some popcorn and watch a funny movie.  There is nothing wrong with enjoying your own company.  Then get out there and join a group or something and make some friends so you will have someone to spend time with when the next Valentine’s Day rolls around.  Take action and be your own cupid!

Here are some quotes about love…………….

Love is the thing that enables a woman to sing while she mops up the floor after her husband has walked across it in his barn boots. ~Author unknown

You know you’re in love when you don’t want to fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.  ~Dr. Seuss

You can give without loving, but you can never love without giving.  ~Author Unknown

We waste time looking for the perfect lover, instead of creating the perfect love.  ~Tom Robbins

Love is not a matter of what happens in life.  It’s a matter of what’s happening in your heart.  ~Ken Keyes

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. ~Lao Tzu

You really shouldn’t say “I love you” unless you mean it. But if you mean it, you should say it a lot. People forget. ~Author unknown, attributed to an 8-year-old named Jessica

Love is what makes two people sit in the middle of a bench when there is plenty of room at both ends.  ~Author Unknown

Love is when you can be your true self with someone, and you only want to be your true self because of them. ~Terri Guillemets

It is not necessary to be strong in every place if in the place you are vulnerable, you are loved.  ~Robert Brault

True love is when you put someone on a pedestal, and they fall – but you are there to catch them.  ~Author Unknown

 

 

Leave a Reply

