imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Expensive gifts don’t equal love

on December 18, 2013

giving giftsSome people believe that if they go out and spend lots of money on gifts that it shows their love.  Wrong!   Money and gifts do not necessarily show love.   Some people do give gifts out of love but too often we buy gifts because it has become an expected habit and there is not much love that goes with the gift.  Some people also need to receive gifts because it makes them feel valued, but this is wrong because they are placing their value in possessions and not in themselves.

During our lifetime, most of us receive many gifts, some large, some small, some expensive, some inexpensive.   Do you remember what gifts meant the most to you?  Was it the large toys you received for Christmas when you were a child?  Was it the beautiful clothing that you received as a teen?  Was it the diamond earrings or tool set you received from a spouse?  Was it the kitchen appliance or electronic device that you received from a friend?  Personally, I can’t remember most of the toys, the clothing, the jewelry or the appliances that I’ve received over the years.  It was great fun getting those things at the time and they were enjoyed for a while, but most of the things we get are soon forgotten.

The only gifts that have made a lasting impression are those that were given from the heart.  From my childhood, I kept a stuffed horse on wheels, that I spend many hours riding.   My children have given me some special gifts that I will treasure forever;  a painted picture, a decorated heart, a hand-sewn mouse.   My husband gave me a couple of really special romantic cards that I take out of my dresser drawer and look at once in a while.  None of these gifts cost much but they are more important to me than anything else.

Time is the best gift we can give each other.  It is more valuable than anything else and it will last forever, etched in our hearts.   Give a hug, a kiss, tell someone you love them, sit and talk for a while, go for a walk.  Do something that really shows your love.   Gifts are nice, but they don’t leave a lasting impression like your love does.

Leave a Reply

