imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Are you a pressure cooker?

on December 13, 2013

pressure cookerWhen I was a child, my mother had a pressure cooker.  You know that pot that cooks food quickly with the pressure of steam.  It has that little metal thing that rocks back and forth making noise which regulates the pressure in the pot.  I was always a little scared about the cooking pot because my mom told me never to touch it because it might explode.  It never occurred to me that I would have my own pressure cooker someday.

Years ago I used to make soup the old-fashioned way, taking hours to simmer the meat and adding the other ingredients at various times so they would add flavour and everything would be ready at the same time.  It was a tedious procedure and you had to stay close to the kitchen.  One day I got brave and decided to buy a pressure cooker.  I was a little nervous but I read all the instructions and gave it a try.  It was wonderful and now I use it all the time to make soup or cook meat in a hurry.   Instead of hours in the kitchen, I can make a hearty soup in just over an hour.

A pressure cooker can be a good thing when used properly.  You have to be careful to allow the pressure to build and then turn it down while it cooks, then allow it to cool down before you take the lid off.  If you are not patient enough and remove the lid too quickly, it can explode and cause a huge mess, create damage or even hurt you physically.

Our lives can be like a pressure cooker.   We keep adding all sorts of emotions, mix them up and every day we add pressure.  If we aren’t patient enough and take care of the pressure little by little, it will build up until it is ready to explode.  Then when something small or unimportant happens, the top blows of our pressure cooker, hurting everyone in the way, including ourselves.

Is your life like a pressure cooker?

Are you building up anger, resentment or bitterness?

Do you explode when little things happen?

Try to deal with issues when they happen instead of allowing them to build up pressure.

  • stop and take a deep breath
  • try to remain calm
  • think about why you are angry
  • does your anger make any sense
  • release your emotions in a positive way – do some kind of physical activity like running or a mental activity like writing

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

