imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Today is a brand new day

on September 25, 2013

Don’t you just love waking up in the morning and realizing that today is a brand new day?  No?  Well, you aren’t alone.  Many people don’t like mornings.  I used to be one of those people who woke up dreading the day and feeling just terrible.                                 

The average, healthy, well-adjusted adult gets up at seven-thirty in the morning feeling just plain terrible.  ~Jean Kerr, Please Don’t Eat the Daisies, 1957

yawning

Nothing good was going to happen, so what was the point in even getting up?  It was a constant fight with myself to get out of bed and get ready for work.  “I don’t want to get up.”  “I don’t feel good.” “I don’t want to talk to anyone.”  There were all sorts of arguments that I tried on myself.  Of course, I had to work, so I dragged myself out of bed.

I’d like mornings better if they started later.  ~Author Unknown

sleeping with teddy bear

Now, I love waking up in the morning knowing that today is a brand new day and that everything is new and fresh.    I hear the sounds of the traffic, the birds singing, a dog barking and I am thankful that I can hear.  I see the sun shining, the raindrops falling or the snowflakes drifting to the ground and I am thankful that I can see.  I can smell the coffee perking and the bacon cooking and I am thankful that I can smell.   When I get out of bed, I am thankful that I have legs to walk on.  When I hug my family, I’m thankful that I have arms to use.  There are so many things to be thankful for, I wonder why I ever hated getting up in the morning.

The moment when you first wake up in the morning is the most wonderful of the twenty-four hours.  No matter how weary or dreary you may feel, you possess the certainty that, during the day that lies before you, absolutely anything may happen.  And the fact that it practically always doesn’t, matters not a jot.  The possibility is always there.  ~Monica Baldwin

happy face with bird

How did I change from being a miserable morning person to someone who enjoys the mornings?  It is all about perspective.  If you are like many people who have a negative perspective, as soon as you get up in the morning, you will focus on all the negatives in your life and be miserable.  If you work hard on developing a positive perspective, you will be able to see the positives in life and start your day on a positive note.

Be pleasant until ten o’clock in the morning and the rest of the day will take care of itself.  ~Elbert Hubbard

singing with note

Here are some ideas on how to change your perspective:

  • practice saying daily positive affirmations
  • consciously stop your negative thoughts
  • change your negative words into positive words
  • create positive habits
  • surround yourself with positive people, places and things
  • fill your emotional tank with positive fuel
  • think about all the things you can be thankful for

For more information and ideas, visit my website at www.imconfident.com

You can also download my Caterpillar to Butterfly Self-Esteem Workbook by visiting my website and clicking on the Bookstore tab.

 

4 responses to “Today is a brand new day

  1. Love this! It is very important to be positive in the morning as it sets the tone for the rest of the day. I am always thankful when my feet touch the ground in the morning as my mom has MS and does not have the use of her legs anymore. Seeing my mom makes me appreciate all the things that can sometimes be taken for granted. Thank you for sharing these words.

  2. imconfident says:

    You’re welcome. Life is so much better when you can appreciate what you have. So sorry about your mom. I hope your positivity helps her.

  3. The power of perspective! I agree wholeheartedly and have turned my life around with this incredible step. Thanks for this post and the excellent list of tips! 🙂 xo Gina

Leave a Reply

