imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

What do you want your children to learn?

on July 28, 2013

lawnmower fall 2012Today we celebrated my grandson’s second birthday.   His parents had a small family party for him at their house.   We enjoyed barbecued hamburgers, hotdogs, salads and great conversation.

My grandson played with his cousin, who just turned 4 years old and they had lots of fun riding his tractor and running around the yard.  Then his cousin twisted her ankle and the fun stopped.   Sobbing, she hugged her mom and my grandson watched with obvious concern for her pain.  Then he patted her back and put his arm around her neck.

It was very touching to see how caring my grandson was towards his cousin.   What an awesome feeling to know that we have helped teach him by modelling love and respect.   I didn’t realize how much of an impact we can have on our children by being a positive role model.  Positivity breeds positivity and negativity breeds negativity.   We should be teaching our children to be positive by example.

  • If you model love, your children will learn to love
  • If you model respect, your children will learn to respect
  • If you model kindness, your children will learn to be kind

What do you want your children to learn?

 

 

 

5 responses to “What do you want your children to learn?

  1. Angie says:

    Wonderful post! Sounds like he had a wonderful birthday! He’s learning all the right things…those are the top three on my list 😀

  2. imconfident says:

    Thanks. We all had a wonderful day.

  3. Lovely post! I am ALL about role modelling and I could just see your sweet grandson patting her and putting his arm around her. He has obviously seen and experienced abundant compassion. May we all learn from his darling example. Even adults repeat what they see. 🙂
    Blessings, Gina

    • imconfident says:

      Thanks. I’ve been learning so much since I became a grandmother and I’m trying to be a good role model for my daughters and my grandson. We can always learn so much no matter how old we get.

      • I agree completely. The older I get the more I feel I have no idea what’s going on! 😉 Kidding (mostly) but truly this is an ongoing adventure filled with learning for all of us, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

