imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Nobody likes me, everybody hates me

on July 9, 2013

This is the title of a book written by the author, educator and internationally known consultant, Michelle Borba.  It is a book about problems that children and teens encounter and how to resolve them.

Sad Little GirlThe title could be a statement made by any number of people in this world because sadly many of us feel this way and it often starts in our childhood.   We don’t get the emotional support that is needed to help build our esteem and this creates insecurities and anxieties about ourselves as we grow.    We can’t deal with problems effectively or make good choices because we don’t have very good esteem.  We end up hating who we are and feel that nobody likes us.

Unfortunately, if we don’t like who we are and are presenting a negative picture to the world, we are sending out a very bad message.  “I don’t like myself, so you won’t like me either.”   Many people are often stuck in a cycle of hating self and feeling hated by others, not knowing how to build good relationships which are very important to good mental health.

It is important that we try to develop strong esteem so we can move ahead and live life to our full potential.   Everyone in the world has value and purpose but many people have trouble believing this because of the environment they live in.  It doesn’t matter how difficult your past has been or how badly people have treated you, you can still build esteem and improve your life.   It isn’t easy, but it is possible if you work hard and focus on being positive.

Try to connect with people who are positive and supportive.  Immerse yourself in positive stuff – music, books, environment.  Keep yourself busy with work, relationships, school, activities.  Say positive affirmations.  Look in the mirror and tell yourself “I AM AWESOME”.   You can’t have a positive and negative thought at the same time, so if you focus on being positive, you will drive away the negative.Smiling Man

NEVER TELL YOURSELF THAT NOBODY LIKES YOU!  Saying negative statements will just make you feel bad.  Learn to like yourself and when you can show people who you are indeed valuable, they will start liking you too.   Who are you attracted to?  Would it be someone who looks confident, has a smile on their face and something nice to say – OR – someone who has their head hanging down, looking miserable and complaining?  Be that confident, friendly person!  YOU CAN DO IT!

Teach your children to be confident.  Provide them with a loving, encouraging environment and help them feel good about themselves.  If you are a good example of a confident, caring person, this will help them build esteem.

If you are interested in reading Michelle’s book or reading some of her great articles, click on the following link:  http://www.micheleborba.com/Pages/Ordering.htm

 

 

3 responses to “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me

  1. […] Nobody likes me, everybody hates me (imconfident.wordpress.com) […]

  2. thatbiggal says:

    This is very good. Although I’m an adult, I often read advice for parents and children on developing self esteem because I feel like I missed out on that. I definitely appreciate what you wrote here.

    • imconfident says:

      Thanks. Keeping working on developing your esteem. Don’t ever give up. Poor self-esteem is a an issue for people of all ages. Parents should help their children build esteem from the day they are born, but often they don’t have much themselves and aren’t able to teach their children or be a good role model. It depends on how they were raised as a child and the environment they grew up in. I had low esteem because my parents didn’t know how to help me build esteem and this caused problems for me in raising my own children, who also have esteem issues. I’ve been working hard to increase my own esteem for the past few years and this is helping my children now.

Leave a Reply

