imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Are you having a good day?

on July 3, 2013

Sick Young Woman Lying in BedHow are you feeling right now?   Wonderful?   Okay?  Not so good?  Awful?

Think back to first thing this morning before you even got out of bed.  As soon as you woke up what did you focus on first?  Where you thinking about problems that were going to happen today or were you thinking about what a great day this was going to be?

If you are like most other people, you wake up and your negative mind starts working.  “I don’t want to get up.”  “I don’t feel good”.  I can’t do this or do that.”  You have already put yourself in a bad mood for the day and it probably won’t get any better.  You drag yourself out of bed, get dressed and look for something to eat.  Then you shuffle out of the door to work, school or appointment with a frown on your face and a heaviness in your heart.  Wow, what an awful way to start the day!

This used to be my regular routine.  I never wanted to get up and almost always dreaded the day ahead.  It never occurred to me that I was making myself miserable.  Nobody was standing over me telling me all those negative things.  I was doing it to myself by using negative self-talk.  Negativity ruled my life and it certainly wasn’t any fun.  Of course, people are sometimes in situations where they have other negative people around them than can make it hard to think positive, but we should still try very  hard.  We shouldn’t allow other people to control our thoughts.

Now I have learned ways to change my negative thoughts into positive thoughts.  Saying positive statements or affirmations is a great way to focus on being positive.  When I started saying positive statements to myself, I started feeling better and after doing this every day for several weeks, it became a good habit that I continue to reinforce as often as possible.

When you get up in the morning, try focusing on positive thoughts or say positive affirmations.  They will help you start of your day in a positive mood and then you will have a much better chance of having a good day.  It does really work and you can become more positive if you are actively and consciously working on it.  I used to be negative most of the time and now I’m positive most of the time.

Every day may not be good, but there’s something good in every day.  ~Author Unknown

The only difference between a good day and a bad day is your attitude.  ~Dennis S. Brown

A strong positive mental attitude will create more miracles than any wonder drug.  ~Patricia Neal

You’re not going to make me have a bad day.  If there’s oxygen on earth and I’m breathing, it’s going to be a good day.  ~Cotton Fitzsimmons

Being in a good frame of mind helps keep one in the picture of health.  ~Author Unknown

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats.  ~Voltaire

Happiness is an attitude.  We either make ourselves miserable, or happy and strong.  The amount of work is the same.  ~Francesca Reigler

So often time it happens, we all live our life in chains, and we never even know we have the key.  ~The Eagles, “Already Gone”

If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face.  And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week, every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until it gets so ugly you can hardly bear to look at it.  A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly.  You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely. ~Roald Dahl

 

2 responses to “Are you having a good day?

  1. seeker says:

    excellent quotes.

Leave a Reply

