imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Happy Canada Day!

on July 1, 2013

Ihappy face canada flag‘m sitting here on this beautiful Canada Day writing my blog and waiting for the family to get ready for Canada Day celebrations.

Canada Day is held every year on July 1st and it is a national day that Canada sets aside to celebrate the anniversary of the July 1, 1867 act which united Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the Province of Canada (Ontario and Quebec) into a single country called Canada.

Most communities across Canada celebrate July 1st with festivals, shows, parades, barbecues, concerts and fireworks.  Some of the larger celebrations are held in cities like Ottawa, Vancouver and Toronto.   Many families celebrate with their own backyard barbecues and light off their own firecrackers.

My family will be attending a couple of local events that have activities for the children, music, food and of course the grande fireworks display which is done out over Lake Ontario.  As we sit on the beach, we can also see the lights from across the lake at Toronto and Hamilton.

I realize that as Canadians we have so much to be thankful for and I think about all the people in the world who are suffering.   So I count my blessings –

  • I have a roof over my head
  • I have food to eat
  • I have a bed to sleep in
  • My health is pretty good
  • I have enough money to pay my bills
  • I have a family who loves me
  • I love my family
  • I am able to help other people
  • I am able to practice my faith

What more do we really need in life?  What are you thankful for on this beautiful July 1st?

2 responses to “Happy Canada Day!

  1. Thank you for this lovely post! Counting our blessings is a wonderful activity and we are certainly blessed to live in this amazing country. I am thankful for fun blogs like yours! And thankful that it is July, a bright and sunny month. I am thankful it’s stopped raining in Alberta. I am thankful to have all my family members safe and I am thankful to be alive. It’s a wonderful day, and thanks for sharing this delightful post. Cheers, Gina

Leave a Reply

