I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Our love language

on May 10, 2013

Couple HuggingDid you know that we all have different love languages?  We all speak a different language when it comes to love which results in communication problems in marriages and relationships.   Learning about these love languages and matching them to our loved ones could help make positive changes in behaviour and attitude.  Most of us have more than one love language, but usually there will be one in particular that we need more than any other.

The first love language is Words of Affirmation.  This means that we use words that build up the other person, give them compliments and show appreciation.   Some examples are, “You look great.  That is such a beautiful dress.”  “Thank-you for making that terrific supper.”  “I appreciate your help with the sale.”   Words are very important and they can make or break a relationship.  Affirming words don’t cost anything but they can have huge rewards.

The second love language is Quality Time.  Spending time with a loved one means giving them your undivided attention and showing them that you really care about them.   You could take a nice walk, go out for dinner or just sit and talk.  Time is a precious commodity and it has a lot of value in this busy world.

The third love language is Receiving Gifts.  Most of us like to receive a gift but to some people, this is the only way that they feel loved.   When you give someone a gift, it shows that you were thinking of them.   It doesn’t have to cost a lot, it is the thought that is important.

The fourth love language is Acts of Service.  This means that we do nice things for our loved one.   This could be helping clean the house, cook a meal, wash the car, take the dog for a walk, do the laundry or anything else that is considerate and caring.  By doing something for a loved one, you are showing that you care about them.

The fifth love language is Physical Touch.  People of all ages require physical touch.  This communicates that we love each other in a special way through holding hands, kissing, hugging and other meaningful touches.

Determine what the primary love language is for your loved one(s) and yourself.  Then try to communicate with them by using their love language.  This will help make positive changes to your relationships.

To read more about your love languages, read “The Five Love Languages” by Gary Chapman, author and international speaker (

3 responses to “Our love language

  1. Hi it’s been a while, I miss your input, if I have said and done something to upset you, I am truly sorry, it was not my intention, I have nominated you for the “Best Moment Award”, one reason is you were one of the best moments when I arrived on WordPress, please except this award as a sincere jester of good will…cheers :-),

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: