imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Watch your words

on May 5, 2013

stickman with megaphoneEvery word that comes out of your mouth has the potential to help someone or hurt someone.  Words are very powerful.  Once a word is spoken it can never be taken back.  The other person has already heard what you said and it can’t be reversed.

Can you remember a time when you said something and immediately wished you could take back the words?    I sure can; there were many times when the words just came flying out because I was hurt, angry or upset and instantly I wished that I hadn’t said anything.   It was these times that I felt stupid, inconsiderate, mean, thoughtless and ignorant.  My words hurt the other person and they came back to hurt me.

We should always be careful what we say.   I am now able to stop myself most of the time and think first before any unkind or nasty words come out of my mouth.  It takes a conscious effort to do this, but if you keep practicing, you will create a new positive habit and it becomes easier.  When speaking to someone, consider these things:

  • Will my words hurt or offend someone?
  • Will my words help or lift this person up?
  • Am I angry with this person?
  • Am I blaming this person for something that isn’t their fault?
  • Can I use gentler words to get my meaning across?
  • Should I just be quiet and say nothing?

We spend a lot of time with people and we can do a lot of damage if we aren’t careful with our words.   Negative words bring negative results.  Positive words bring positive results.

Watch your words!

Leave a Reply

