imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Simplify your life

on April 29, 2013

Many of us live very complicated lives today.  We are always in a hurry, but where exactly are we going?  Every day we rush to work, rush home, rush to eat, rush to meetings, rush to take our kids somewhere – rush, rush, rush!  We try to accomplish way more in a day than we possibly can and it just results in stress and frustration.

Until a few years ago, I lived my life on the fast track.  Every minute of every day had to be full of activity or I felt like I wasn’t doing enough.  I was the typical ‘superwoman’, trying to fit 60 hours into 24 hours and I was never successful.  After working a full day, cooking meals, cleaning the house, doing laundry, chauffeuring the kids, looking after pets, going to meetings and so on, I didn’t have any time left for myself.  My own health was neglected because I was so busy looking after everyone else.

I now realize that my to-do lists were way too long and not even realistic.  Nobody could have possibly accomplished the tasks that I expected to do in just one day.   After burning out a few times, I started to take a closer look at my lists and really began thinking about each item.  What really needed to be done that day?  What could I do another day?  What could I just not do at all?

Taking the time to think helped me realize that a lot of those “important’ tasks were not really important at all.  I had just convinced myself that they were all necessary or I wasn’t doing my job as a wife and mother.  Of course, society is a big culprit by pressuring us to do more and do it as quickly as possible.

Now I simplify my life by making shorter to-do lists, reviewing them and crossing off anything that isn’t important for that day.   If it needs to be done, it gets done.  If it can wait until another pencil and paperday, I write it down on the next day’s list.  If it is something that isn’t even important, I cross it right off.  Now my life is a lot less stressful and I can actually enjoy some quiet, alone time every day.  It’s a good idea to include some personal time on your daily to-do list.

What is on your to-do list?

What can you put off until another day?

What can you totally avoid doing?

Do you have some personal time on your to-do list?

One response to “Simplify your life

  1. […] Simplify your life (imconfident.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

