imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Be a positive role model

on April 27, 2013

mel nick and landonChildren learn by what they see and hear.  They see how you treat them and also how you treat other people.  They listen to how you speak to them and also how you speak to other people.  This forms their idea of what life is like.

If you are passing on positive messages to your children, they will develop a positive self-concept.  If you are passing on negative messages to your children, they will develop a negative self-concept.

It is the responsibility of every adult to be a positive role model so their children will learn how to be a responsible adult who can influence others in a positive way.

When I became a grandmother, I realized that I had not always been a positive role model for my children and I started doing research on positive parenting.    While writing down some notes, I discovered there were a few basic guidelines that really made sense and ones that I should have used when I was a parent.    I decided to put my thoughts together and wrote a book called, Grandma’s Notes on Parenting.

You can preview this book at http://www.blurb.ca/books/4113149-grandma-s-notes-on-parenting.  (softcover $7.19 CAD – PDF instant download $4.99 CAD – Ebook, Apple iPad format $2.99 CAD)


2 responses to “Be a positive role model

  1. seeker says:

    I believe in this kind of learning. Education starts at home.

Leave a comment