imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Are you listening to yourself?

on March 17, 2013

Do you ever listen to what you are saying?  I mean REALLY LISTEN!  hand to ear on head

Do you encourage yourself or put yourself down?

Do you tell yourself that you did a great job or do you criticize everything you do?

We have a habit of saying negative things to ourselves but not really understanding what impact they have on us.

Our words can affect us in a positive or negative way.  According to stats, we naturally think more negative thoughts than positive thoughts, so of course these negative thoughts will result in negative words that we say to ourselves and others.

You can talk yourself into being miserable.   Yes, you can because I’ve done it a million times.  When you get up in the morning, do you start telling yourself what a bad day it is going to be?  This will put you in a negative mood right away and probably make you miserable for the rest of the day.  “I don’t want to get up.  I don’t want to go to work.  I don’t feel good.”   These are great discouraging statements.

The good news is, you can also talk yourself into feeling good.   Just listen to what you are saying to yourself and start using positive statements.  Stop being critical and making yourself miserable.  Get up in the morning and tell yourself what a great day it is going to be.  It doesn’t matter if you aren’t feeling too good or you don’t want to go anywhere.  If you tell yourself you are going to have a good day and try hard to believe it, you will have a much better chance of having a good day.  If you tell yourself you are going to have a bad day, you probably will have a bad day.  It’s your choice.  Do you want to be miserable or do you want to be happy?  I’ve been miserable long enough and now I choose to be happy, so I’m working on it every day.  How about you?

9 responses to “Are you listening to yourself?

  1. Otrazhenie says:

    Very good post. Very empowering. I used to hate myself and everything I did. Once I got it changed, the whole world around me got so much brighter, colourful and smily. 🙂

    • imconfident says:

      Thanks. I’m really glad you said you USED to hate yourself. That means you like yourself now and that is great! Until a few years ago, I hated myself too and I’ve discovered that a lot of people feel this way. It is what the world does to us – destroys our esteem. We are all amazing individuals and we should celebrate our uniqueness!

      • Otrazhenie says:

        Totally agree with you on that. And that’s what brought me to blogging. It helps me to keep the cycle of positive thoughts and positive interactions with amazing people like you are going. Glad that I came across your blog in a blogosphere. 🙂

  2. I would love for a few people I know to read this article. Maybe they would start listening to themselves, or at best, think before they speak…

    • imconfident says:

      People don’t realize how much they really hurt themselves and those around them. I’m glad I finally found out about self-talk and now I try to be careful with my words. We have 2 ears and just 1 mouth for a reason.

  3. jaynefranks says:

    I found it was hard to change poor habitual thinking patterns because I was unaware it was ‘me’ who was doing it. I let myself get caught up in the drama of my thoughts and because of it fell into all sorts of unhelpful thinking traps. I agree with you we can be much happier beings if we learn to be more attentive to the words we chose when writing our own mind stories.

    • imconfident says:

      It is hard to face ourselves and admit that we may be creating some of our own problems.
      Being negative is easy and it takes a lot less work than trying to be positive, but it also keeps us trapped in misery. Once we realize that we are hurting ourselves and start making positive changes in our thinking and speaking, happiness comes.

  4. Excellent post 😉
    It has been proven that if people use positive words (e.g. brilliant, fantastic…) they start to feel like these words.
    Good luck

    • imconfident says:

      Thanks. I’m certainly a good example of that. Now that I have set positive habits, I feel so much better about life in general and my positivity is rubbing off on my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

