imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Dress for success

on January 30, 2013

5 friendsIf I told you to dress for success what would come to your mind?   A picture of a nice dress, a tailored suit?  Many of us think that we need to look good to be successful and this is certainly true, however being successful is not just how you look on the outside.   Success comes from your entire self, both outside and inside.

Have you ever been in a room of people when someone with a tremendous personality walks in?   It feels like the entire room lights up and becomes warmer.  People stop and turn to give their attention to this person because they exude confidence and success.   Is it because of the clothing they are wearing?  Is it because they are beautiful or handsome?  Not entirely.  They probably do look very nice, but it is their personality that shines from within.   What type of personality are you wearing?   Successful people are dressed from the inside out; their clothing is just the icing on the cake.

When I was a teen, I used to feel that wearing stylish clothing was important to having friends and being successful.   Everything I wore had to match and be without marks and flaws.  I couldn’t step out of the house without looking as perfect as possible and this attitude carried with me long into my adult years.  I realize now that the media had brainwashed me into believing everything important in life was tied up to how I looked.  How crazy is this?  People I didn’t even know were telling me how I should look and making me feel bad.  This craziness had a negative influence on my 2 daughters who were watching me and doing everything I did.   I certainly wasn’t a very good role model!

Instead of obsessing about how we look, we should try to build our confidence and increase our self-esteem so we can be happy about who we are and how we look.    It is important to try to look our best, but cost and style are not as important as having a good character and a positive attitude towards life.

Are you dressing for success?   Or are you trying to find success in your dress?

3 responses to “Dress for success

  1. Mchampion says:

    I asked this friend of mine the other day why he doesnt throw out his warn out ‘scrubs’ that he wears to work at the dr.s office. He says to me “Do you know how many lives i have impacted in these scrubs? How much damn money I have made in these scrubs? Do you know how many $100 pair of Michael Jordan tennis shoes i have bought my sons for making the honor roll? Have you seen the beautiful Lexus my wife drives? And the beautiful out fits she wears?”

    My response was “I guess i had my eyes on the wrong shit, sorry dude!”

  2. […] Dress for success (imconfident.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

