imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Housework can wait

on December 10, 2012

When my girls were young, I remember spending a lot of time cleaning my house and working, but I don’t remember spending as much time playing with them.   Now that I am older and wiser I can look back and see what should have been more important in life – enjoying time being a mother.  Here is a poem that I wish had mirrored my thoughts back then.  It does mirror them now as a grandmother and I value the precious time I can spend with my grandson.   Take time to consider what is important in your life.   Life is short and you don’t have second chances.    The poem ends with a question.  I know what my answer is…..what is yours?

Housework Can Wait……..

Come in, but don’t expect to find all dishes done, all floors ashine.
Observe the crumbs and toys galore. The smudgy prints upon the door. Mother and Daughter Face To Face
The little ones we shelter here don’t thrive on a spotless atmosphere.
They’re more inclined to disarray and carefree even messy play.
Their needs are great, their patience small. All day I’m at their beck and call.
It’s Mommy come! Mommy see! Wiggly worms and red scraped knee.
Painted pictures, blocks piled high. My floors unshined, the days go by.
Some future day they’ll flee this nest, And I at last will have a rest!
Now you tell me which matters more, a happy child or a polished floor?
…Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

