imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Kids need your presence more than your presents….

on December 3, 2012

clip present2This is a wonderful quote by Jesse Jackson who was an American civil rights activist and a Baptist minister.    He made several quotes worthy of repeating, but I particularly like this one.  It speaks volumes about how we should parent our children.

Christmas is coming and people are starting to scramble around buying gifts.   This is the time of year that more money is spent on buying expensive items for families and friends.   Every year we try to outdo ourselves and buy that bigger and better ‘special’ gift for someone.

What kind of gift list have you made for your children?   I remember buying my own girls lots of colourful, fun toys and watching the excitement on their faces when they unwrapped their gifts.   However, these marvellous toys and other items soon lost their fun when they became piles of ‘stuff’ thrown all over their rooms that I had to clean up and put away.

Now I am a grandmother and I’m very careful about what I buy.  When I take my grandson into a store, we look at all the shiny, new toys and then we go home and play with his old toys.  Instead of investing money in the store, I take my money home and invest time in my grandson – it is a win-win situation.  I wish I could go back to when my girls were small and instead of spending money on toys to entertain them, I would spend time entertaining them myself.Cmas mouse and candy cane

Don’t get me wrong – I like presents and it is important to remember our loved ones with special gifts.  But are these gifts something meaningful that show your love and something that they will treasure or just a bunch of expensive trinkets and toys that will be exciting to unwrap and use or play with for a short time, then soon left alone in a corner while they expect something new?

If we are responsible with our finances, it will teach our children to be responsible with their money when they grow up and help build their esteem.  On the other hand, if we are careless and waste our money on worthless ‘stuff’, we will show our children how to be careless and waste their money.

Your presents can be costly and nobody wins.  Your presence is priceless and everyone wins.

One response to “Kids need your presence more than your presents….

Leave a Reply

