imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Are you a worrywort?

on November 21, 2012

I used to be a real worrywart.  You know, someone who worries without just cause.  People worry about almost anything – other people, the weather, money, jobs, health and everything in between.   “It is supposed to rain the day we leave for our vacation”.  “I won’t have enough money to pay my bills”.  “I might be sick for the concert”.  “Nobody will like me at my new school”.  “I don’t think I will get that job”.  There isn’t much that we don’t worry about at one time or another.

Worrying is pointless.  It can’t help anything, it doesn’t make sense, it can lead to physical and mental problems and it is a waste of time.

I’ve heard it said that about 90% of the things we worry about never do happen.  So why do we waste our precious time even thinking about things that won’t help at all.  We can worry or not worry and the result will be the same.

When we are faced with a situation that causes us to worry we need to consider if our worry will change the situation or not.   If you can change the situation, then take action to change it and stop worrying about it.   If you can’t change the situation, try to release your worry by focusing on doing something positive.   One idea is to create a worry box where you can place all your worries and forget about them.   It can be just a plain cardboard box or a fancy decorated wood or plastic box.  When you start to worry about something, write it down on a piece of paper, put it in your worry box and forget about it.    Another idea is to create a list of things you worry about and put the list in an envelope.   If you want to see how effective this can be, just take out the slips or the list and read them over at the end of each month.  How many things actually happened?  I’ll bet you saved yourself a ton of time worrying!

Worrying is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do, but it gets you nowhere.  ~Glenn Turner

One response to “Are you a worrywort?

  1. Kami Alise says:

    Too true, I love the idea of writing them down and forgetting 🙂 I’ll try that next time. It’s always late at night while I’m laying in bed that all these little worries pop in my head lol maybe I’ll keep a journal next to my bed!

Leave a Reply

