imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Dadisms

on November 17, 2012

Have you ever heard of dadisms?  I came across some of these on a website a few weeks ago.  If you don’t know, dadisms are short statements that your dad used to say to you as a child.  There are also momisms, short statements that your mom used to say.

When I started reading them, I remembered hearing some when I was a child and I thought of how ridiculous they sounded.  However, when I stopped to consider their meaning, some actually had some valuable lessons in them.

Often we use the same type of statements when raising our children because we have listened to them over and over again as a child and they have become part of our ‘learned habits’.  Unfortunately, some of these statements may not help our child and may actually harm the growth of their confidence and self-esteem.  Others may be valuable if there is an explanation attached to them.

We always have to be careful with our words when speaking to our children as they absorb everything we say.  Children need to be receiving positive statements that will help them build confidence and increase their self-esteem.

Here is a list of some Dadisms.   Which ones would actually teach a valuable lesson to your child?  Which ones would be helpful if you expanded them with a simple explanation or just reworded them?  Which ones are just plain worthless?  Which ones do you use with your family and friends?  I’d be interested to hear your comments.  Enjoy!

  •  Coffee will stunt your growth.
  • A little dirt never hurt anyone–just wipe it off.
  • Get your elbows off the table.
  • I’m not just talking to hear my own voice!
  • Stop crying or I’ll give you a reason to cry.
  • You’re only young once.
  • You’re gonna like it, whether you like it or not!
  • The early bird gets the worm. Rise and shine!
  • If your friend jumped off a bridge would you?
  • You have things so easy!
  • Don’t look at me in that tone of voice!
  • How many times do I have to pound that into your head?
  • What part of NO don’t you understand?
  • Didn’t your teacher learn you anything?!
  • Two wrongs do not make a right.
  • Don’t use that tone with me!
  • Am I talking to a brick wall?
  • If I catch you doing that one more time, I’ll…
  • Wipe your feet!
  • Enough is enough!
  • Don’t make me stop the car!
  • What did I just get finished telling you?
  • Act your age.
  • Just wait until I get you home!
  • Be home early.
  • Fill your mouth with food and not with words.
  • Promises, Promises! (In response to “I’ll never speak to you again!)
  • Is that a threat, or a promise? (Likewise)
  • You’ll be sorrreee!
  • Hey, did you hear me talking to you?
  • “Here I taught you everything I know and you still don’t know nothing!”
  • If I didn’t love you so much I wouldn’t punish you… I’d let you do whatever you wanted.
  • Go tell your mother she wants you.
  • Who said life was supposed to be fair?
  • Always say please and thank you. That way, you get more.
  • If you forget, you’ll be grounded till the end of the world.
  • Shake it off. It’s only pain.
  • A little pain never hurt anybody.
  • Don’t take yourself so seriously, take what you do seriously!
  • You’re always a winner if you lose with a smile.
  • If you want to do something, do it because you want to. Don’t do it because someone else did.
  • As long as you tried your hardest, that’s all that matters.
  • Don’t believe anything you hear and only half of what you see.
  • Worrying about things you can’t change is like a rocking chair…it gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you anywhere.
  • It’s hard to be good, and easy to be bad.
  • Laugh at yourself first, you’ll take the bite out of others doing so for you.
  • Turn off those lights. Do you think I am made of money?
  • What do you think I am, a bank?
  • You didn’t beat me. I let you win.
  • Now you listen to ME, Buster!
  • This will hurt me a lot more than it hurts you.
  • We’re not lost. I’m just not sure where we are.
  • When I was your age, I treated MY father with respect.
  • As long as you live under my roof, you’ll live by my rules.
  • I’ll tell you why. Because I said so. That’s why.
  • Do what I say, not what I do.
  • In MY day……
  • When I was your age I had to walk to school in 10 feet of snow up hill both ways!
  • When I was your age….
  • That’s not a tear, I have something in my eye.
  • Big boys don’t cry.
  • Don’t worry. It’s only blood.
  • Don’t you know any normal boys?
  • You call that a haircut?
  • You call that noise “music”?
  • Sit up straight, knucklehead!
  • So you think you’re smart, do you?
  • What’s so funny? Wipe that smile off your face.
  • If I’ve told you once, I’ve told you a thousand times
  • You want something to do? I’ll give you something to do.
  • Eat it! It will grow hair on your chest!
  • Son, don’t ever get married. And tell that to your kids.
  • Don’t give me any of your lip, young lady.
  • Young ladies perspire, they do not sweat.
  • I knew how to cook when I was your age, young lady!
  • You’re not leaving my house dressed like that! What will other parents think?
  • You’re going to sit there until you eat your dinner.  I don’t care if it takes all night.
  • Ship up or shape up.
  • This is your last warning.
One response to “Dadisms

  1. mysticarose says:

    Your dad sounds like a typical Asian dad 😀

Leave a Reply

