imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

Are you a good role model?

on November 17, 2012

I went to a parent seminar at my church this morning.  The topic was ‘Building Self-Esteem in Your Children’.  This is such an important topic that is not addressed very often and one that I am very passionate about.  Growing up with low self-esteem created many difficulties in life for me and I became a poor role model for my children in many ways.   We can’t teach others what we don’t know ourselves and I struggled as a parent.   Since becoming aware of this problem just a few years ago, I have been working hard on building my esteem so I can be a good role model for my grown children and my young grandson.  It is never too late to learn and grow.

Children are our greatest asset.  We need to become good role models so we can help our children become responsible, caring adults with strong esteem.   Being a good role model means that you treat yourself with love and respect.   Listen to how you talk to yourself and others.  Are you using negative words?  Do you criticize yourself?  Practice saying good things about yourself and get your kids into the habit of saying good things about themselves and others – this will help build your esteem too.  Just remember that everything you say and do will affect your child in a positive or negative way.  Children will pick up all your good and bad habits.    If your child develops strong esteem at home, they will be able to handle life’s challenges in an effective way.

Most importantly – LOVE YOUR CHILDREN, but don’t just love them from a distance, SHOW them that you love them.  Hug them, listen to them, encourage them, talk to them, let them help make family decisions,  set reasonable boundaries and keep them,  allow them to make mistakes, pick them up when they fall down – these are all ways that you can show love.

Leave a Reply

