imconfident

I sincerely believe that it is far more beneficial and far less costly to help a child build confidence than it is to fix an adult who has little or none.

BULLYING AWARENESS WEEK

on November 16, 2012

I have been trying to check in all week to make sure that I’m doing my acts of kindness for World Kindness Week and I noticed that this was also Bullying Awareness Week.    Wouldn’t it be an awesome idea to get these 2 great ideas working together.   We could be doing Acts of Kindness to combat bullying.   Sounds strange, but I believe it could work.

I’ve already done a lot of research on bullies and I know that they act in such a manner because they have been bullied or abused themselves.  They didn’t have good adult role models and they usually suffer from low self-esteem.  By bullying others, it gives them a sense of control and power, thereby covering up their own insecurities and inadequacies.   I was bullied myself when I went to school, so I am always ready to help anyone who is in this situation.

So now I have a new idea to get my mind working (which doesn’t take much effort – my mind is always overactive and I wish I could turn it off sometimes) and I started searching for ‘bullying and acts of kindness’.  Wow, I guess I’m not the only one who had the same idea.  I got lots of results immediately.

  • On Nov 13th, 2012 a Fort Worth newspaper headline read, “City Stands up to Bullying with a Message of Kindness”.  The article talks about how the School District’s Kindness Matters Campaign is tied to the district’s efforts to curb bullying.
  • On Oct 5th, 2012 a Grand Forks blog for teachers and parents read, “Rachel’s Challenge – Counter Bullying with Acts of Kindness”.
  • On Sep 30th, 2011 on a website called HowToLearn.com it states, “An Act of Kindness can help Create Bully Free Schools.

These are just 3 of the many results that tie these 2 topics together.    I’m going to keep reading the articles and try to learn about ideas that I can use in my workshops and my own life to help combat bullying with acts of kindness.

How are you doing with your acts of kindness this week?  I did a couple more things on my list today – I’ve sorted through some clothing and already have a couple of big bags that I’m going to take to a women’s group – I stopped working to listen to a client talk about some issues she was having – and of course I keep smiling at everyone I see.  It gives you such a wonderful feeling when you are nice to other people!

One response to “BULLYING AWARENESS WEEK

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I love it when people respond with understanding to others instead of knee jerk retaliation. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

